The one with the abstract look

Hi, everyone!

I recently baked a chocolate cake, but it was not just any chocolate cake. It was the first time that I used oil instead of butter, and I must say that the end product was so much better, and quite delicious. The recipe for the chocolate cake is given below:

Eggless Chocolate Cake (NDTV Food)

The one thing I did differently as compared to the instructions mentioned in this recipe was that I baked the cake in a pressure cooker. I baked it for around 35 minutes. This cake was a two-layered one.

For the filling between the layers, I made a caramel-coffee cream by tweaking a recipe by Gemma Stafford. I made the caramel sauce from scratch. The recipe to it is provided below:

Caramel Sauce (Gordon Ramsay – BBC GoodFood)

The recipe for the caramel-coffee cream is as follows:

2 tbsp caramel sauce

2 tbsp coffee

1/2 cup cream

1/4 cup melted white chocolate

To make the filling, just combine all the ingredients together. In case you are using coffee granules (like I did), combine 2 tbsp of coffee granules with about a tablespoon or two of water by heating the two together for a bit. Make sure that you do not use too much water because that will make the filling too runny, and even whisking the mixture won’t save your filling from it (trust me, I tried). After your coffee granules have combined with water, cool the mixture down a before adding it to the cream. Once you have combined all the ingredients, you can choose to whisk the mixture if you want a thicker filling. Just make sure that you don’t whisk it too much either.

Once your cakes are ready and cooled down, spread the filling on to the cake at the bottom and then place the second cake on top of it. Your cake is now ready to be covered.

So, what did I use to cover the cake? I used dark chocolate ganache. However, I’ve stopped following the old method of making ganache by adding warm cream to the chocolate. The last time I made a cake, the weather was extremely hot, and my chocolate had completely melted (instead of becoming softer). So, what did I do? I just added the warm cream to it anyways. What I didn’t know was that the melted chocolate was going to prove to be a bane. The ganache was actually so much better because it was thick, and perfect for covering the cake. So, this time, I melted 1.5 cups of dark chocolate, added 3/4 cup of warm cream to it, and folded the mixture together. Then, I covered the cake with a layer of the ganache, cooled it in the fridge, added another layer, cooled it once again, and then repeated both the steps once more. So, overall, I covered the cake with three solid layers of the ganache.

Coming to the title of this post; you may be wondering what the abstract look of the cake was.

Voilà! The colourful streaks on the cake are white chocolate combined with food colouring liquids. I took a small quantity of white chocolate in three bowls each, added food colour to the chocolate, mixed the two together, and then used spoons to drizzle the chocolate on the cake. I had a blast decorating this cake. Of course, I made sure that the slab was covered by old newspapers to ensure that I don’t have a literal blast. 😜 So, here is another cake with an abstract and minimalist look, which I so fondly spoke about (at length) in my previous post.

I hope you guys enjoyed reading this. Thank you for reading until the end. Bye-bye, and take care! 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.